DWI with a Child Passenger
Handling Your Charge with an Experienced Fort Worth Attorney
As if being arrested for DWI isn't bad enough, you could also face child endangerment charges if it is discovered that you were carrying a passenger who is under the age of 15. This offense is known as "DWI with a child passenger" and is a felony in the state of Texas. Even if you have never been arrested for DWI before, carrying a child passenger in the vehicle while intoxicated would give the prosecution reason enough to charge you with a felony.
It is imperative that you secure the help of a Fort Worth criminal attorney from The Law Office of Samuel R. Terry, P.C. as soon as you can.
Benefits of Choosing Samuel Terry
In doing so, you may stand a much better chance of successfully avoiding the serious legal penalties that are imposed on felony DWI offenders. Even reducing your charges to a misdemeanor DWI could have a significant impact on sentencing, so there is no reason why you should wait any longer to discuss your case with our firm.
Attorney Samuel Terry handles every case personally, which means that you can expect to receive nothing short of the dedicated legal representation that you deserve. All you have to do is give us a call or submit a free case evaluation form online to get started; someone at the office is available to discuss your case 24/7.
Penalties for DWI with a Child Passenger
In the state of Texas, DWI with a child passenger is prosecuted as a state jail felony. This means that a conviction could land you in jail for a substantial amount of time. Fortunately, you do not have to face these charges alone. By retaining the help of our Fort Worth DWI defense attorney immediately after an arrest, you can build an effective defense against the following legal penalties.
DWI with a Child Passenger:
- 180 days to 2 years in jail
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- 180-day license suspension
Drawing Your Blood without a Warrant
As of September 1, 2009, when Chapter 724 of the Texas Transportation Code was amended, the police can draw blood from a suspect without their consent if they have been arrested for DWI with a child passenger.
This is also true if the suspect has refused to provide a breath sample and someone else has suffered bodily injury, the suspect can be charged with felony DWI due to two prior DWI convictions or one prior conviction for intoxication manslaughter and/or the suspect has previously been convicted of intoxication assault or DWI with a child. The officer would be legally required to have a blood sample drawn under these circumstances, and they would not need a warrant to do so.
Turn to the Fort Worth DWI Lawyer for Help
When you are up against serious criminal charges like DWI with a child passenger, it is crucial that you have an experienced criminal defense attorney by your side. Not only could you be facing hard time behind bars, but you may even be required to pay thousands of dollars in fines. Don't take any chances when it comes to your future; trust in a firm that has the skill to successfully defend you against a conviction.
My Fort Worth criminal firm is prepared to go to battle for you, but it is up to you to take the first step. Call our office today at (817) 882-9977.