Fort Worth Drug Possession Attorney
Safeguarding Your Future and Liberties
Charged with possessing a controlled substance? Consult the Fort Worth drug crime attorney from The Law Office of Samuel R. Terry, P.C. today. I approach each case with determination, giving my personal attention from start to finish.
Why Call My Drug Possession Firm?
- I personally handle each case—you won't work with paralegals.
- My firm has achieved many not-guilty verdicts and case dismissals.
- I was selected for 2015, 2016, and 2017 Super Lawyers®.
- I was also selected for Fort Worth, Texas Magazine's Top Criminal Lawyer in 2014 and 2017.
If you retain my firm, you will always know who is handling your case and can always get a hold of me for questions and concerns. I am licensed to practice by the State Bar of Texas and in the U.S. Federal Court for the Northern District of Texas.
Possession of Controlled Substance
Anyone found in possession of a controlled substance listed under the Texas Controlled Substances Act will be charged with a drug crime. In most cases, drug possession is a felony offense punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and a sentence in jail or prison. For cases involving large amounts of marijuana, cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, and other dangerous drugs, the sentence could be as serious as life in prison.
In order to prosecute charges of drug possession, adequate evidence must be provided to prove that the drugs were in your possession—such as on your person or in your car, home, or office—and that they truly belonged to you. Many drug possession charges can be fought by proving that the defendant was unaware of the presence of the drugs and/or that the drugs did not belong to them.
For this reason, consulting a Fort Worth criminal lawyer is of high importance.
Texas Marijuana Possession Laws
In the state of Texas, it is illegal to possess marijuana in any capacity. Texas has not passed a law granting the possession or use of medical marijuana, which means that you could be arrested and charged for possession for even the smallest amount of cannabis. The penalties for marijuana possession in Texas are as follows:
Less than 2oz:
Class B misdemeanor; maximum fine of $2,000 and / or up to 180 days' jail
2oz - less than 4oz:
Class A misdemeanor; maximum fine of $4,000 and / or up to 1 year in jail
4oz - less than 5lb:
State jail felony; maximum fine of $10,000; 180 days to 2 years' state jail
5lb - less than 50lb:
Third-degree felony; maximum fine of $10,000; 2 - 10 years' state prison
50lb - less than 2,000lb:
First-degree felony; maximum $10,000 fine; 2 - 20 years' state prison
More than 2,000lb:
Life sentence or 5 - 99 years in state prison; maximum fine of $50,000