Ft. Worth Shoplifting Lawyer
Call (817) 756-1817 for a Free Case Evaluation
Regardless of the circumstances of your arrest for the crime of shoplifting, it is important that you move quickly to retain the help of our Fort Worth criminal lawyer as soon as possible. At the Law Office of Samuel R. Terry, P.C., I understand just how consequential a shoplifting conviction can be.
- Top Criminal Lawyer by Fort Worth, Texas Magazine, 2014 and 2017
- Successful record of not-guilty verdicts and dismissed cases
- Selected for inclusion in Super Lawyers® 2015, 2016, and 2017
Theft Laws: Texas Penal Code § 31.03
According to Texas Penal Code § 31.03, you could be charged with a theft crime if you have unlawfully deprived another person of their property. In order to prove that this act constitutes a crime, it would need to be proven that the offender had taken property with criminal intent and without the owner's consent. Under this definition, you could even be charged with theft if you have intentionally stolen property with the intent to return it for a reward. If convicted, the severity of your punishment would depend on the nature of the crime and the value of the property that was stolen.
Accused for taking an item accidentally?
While it can be difficult to prove that you did not actually intend to shoplift after you were caught red-handed with a stolen item, there are certain factors that could bolster your defense.
For example, if you were genuinely unaware of the fact that your child had taken an item before walking out of the store, it is unlikely that the owner would choose to press charges. On the other hand, if video surveillance shows that you had intentionally tried to conceal the item in your child's stroller, the owner might have reason to think that it wasn't an accident.
For this reason, your Ft. Worth criminal attorney will need to build a defense according to the circumstances of your arrest.
Misdemeanor & Felony Theft
If you have been accused of shoplifting, the severity of your charges will depend on the value of the items that were taken. Under Texas Penal Code § 31.03, the degree to which you will be charged can range from a class C misdemeanor to a felony in the first degree. For this reason, you should not take these charges lightly.
The degree of the crime will depend on the value stolen:
- Class C Misdemeanor – Value of the property was $50 or less
- Class B Misdemeanor – Value of the property was $50 – $500
- Class A Misdemeanor – Value of the property was $500 – $1,500
- State Jail Felony – Value of the property was $1,500 – $20,000
- Felony in the Third Degree – Value of the property was $20,000 – $100,000
- Felony in the Second Degree – Value of the property was $100,000 – $200,000
- Felony in the First Degree – Value of the property was $200,000 or more
Call a Fort Worth Criminal Lawyer
While you may only face misdemeanor charges, you could still be sentenced to jail. For this reason, you should call my firm for a free consultation. I make myself available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so there is no reason to delay taking the first step.
Get your free case evaluation by contacting our firm today!