Texas Criminal Defense FAQ
When facing a criminal charge, whether a first-time DUI or a serious violent crime offense, you will want to have immediate and clear answers. To get you started, here are some of the most commonly asked questions about criminal cases.
What penalties am I facing?
Penalties vary from crime to crime. Some cases, such as driving while intoxicated (DWI) or prostitution, are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of up to $4,000 and up to 1 year in jail. Other cases are felonies and are far more serious, such as aggravated assault, sexual assault, burglary, and murder. These cases could incur a fine of up to $10,000 and land you in prison for years, decades, or even for life.
When can I legally be arrested for drunk driving?
In order for a legal DWI arrest to occur, the officer must have had legal grounds to pull you over in the first place and must have gained adequate evidence that you were intoxicated. If you fail even one field sobriety test or blow a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reading of 0.08% or higher (or less for commercial drivers and underage persons), you can be legally arrested under charges of DWI.
Is marijuana possession a crime in Texas?
Marijuana possession is illegal in Texas no matter how small the amount may be. Less than 5 oz of marijuana could result in a Class C misdemeanor conviction. The penalties compound as the amount of marijuana passes certain thresholds and can eventually be penalized as a first-degree felony for possession of more than 2,000 lb of marijuana.
Is it worth it to hire an attorney?
Without a doubt, you cannot afford to go without a criminal defense lawyer by your side. Only an attorney will have the knowledge, skill, experience, and respect needed to defend you against the prosecution's statements at trial. You should not have to suffer from a sentence you do not deserve or that is harsher than you deserve. Contact my firm today to fight your charges and defend you from a harmful criminal conviction.
- Do I have to give a police officer my name?
- Can the police stop and hold you without arresting you?
- Can the police search my car?
- How do I expunge my criminal record?
- What happens if I fail to register as a sex offender?
- How are juvenile crimes prosecuted in Texas?
- Who qualifies for sex offender deregistration in Texas?
- What happens if I violate a protective order?
- How do I get my license back after a DWI arrest?
- If I am offered a plea bargain, should I take it?
- Can a police officer search my vehicle?
- What is the difference between probation and parole?
- Will an arrest affect my immigration status?
- How will bail be set for my case?
I would love to review your case and help you build a strong and effective defense. Call to learn more or to request a free consult.